Gallery

We’re Moving… Back to Basics, Sustainable Living for 2013… Sweet & Savory Style

Yep – you read it right… The Sustainable Sweet & Savory Gourmet is moving to a permanent home.  With the advice, help, and encouragement of those who matter… The Sustainable Sweet & Savory Gourmet took the big jump into the interwebs… Introducing the new home of The Sustainable Sweet & Savory Gourmet www.thesustainablesweetandsavorygourmet.com

I took a few weeks to gather my thoughts and the next steps for this great page…and here it is!  You can read here the process of how we got to this point… it’s a personal read  but a good read none the less… See how we’re taking on a journey of Back to Basics Sustainable Living for 2013… Sweet & Savory Style.

I will no longer post to this page.  The page will remain standing but the content will no longer be updated.  I urge you to stop by our new home and give us a follow.  You’ll have several options to follow via email, RSS feed, and site registration.  Site registration will allow you a deeper access to content.

You’ll notice the site looks very similar to this one…and well, that’s because I love the design and it seems to work.  I encourage feedback from everyone, so don’t be shy… The site is bare bones now as I’m building it out.  We’ll have video content how tos, more recipes, more DIY projects, more more more!  That is one of the main reasons why I took the leap is because our content is growing and our readership is growing.  We needed a home that could accommodate our growth.

The focus of the content for the new site will be my stories of our family as we work through making changes into a fully sustainable lifestyle.  There will be an emphasis will be on food, basic homesteading, urban homesteading, family, crafting, natural & holistic wellness, education, community, and local businesses.  There will be video information segments on Canning, Preservation, Fermentation, Pickling, Cheese Making, Bread Making, Fat Rendering, Soap & Candle Making, Natural Remedies, Composting, Pasta Making, Cooking & Baking 101s, Organic Gardening, How to Raise Small Livestock, and Raising Bees; to name a few ideas.  As momentum grows I hope to turn the video segments into hands on classes for my local community.  Thanks to a growing movement and the official signature of our governor, come 2013 I will be able to sell my homemade seasonal goods.  I plan on attending our local farmers markets and sell directly from my website.  Some products will include seasonal jams, jellies, sweet & savory sauces, chutney, dressings, and baked goods.  I will continue sharing with you photo diaries of local organic sustainable farms, sustainable restaurants, and farmers markets, as well as recipe blogs.  I eventually want to partner with other local producers to start community events or festivals focusing on the local bounty, and possibly a CSA and community co-op could be down the line with ample support.  The site will be filled with links, resources, and tools related to sustainable living available to our readers.  I’m ready to dig in, do the work, and share it with my community.

My first goal in this project is to feed my family. We want to learn how to live a self-sufficient lifestyle.  We want to be less dependent on large unstable systems and to teach our children the importance of caring for the land and its inhabitants. Through these trials I will share with my readers and the community, which transitions into my next goal of this project. I want to educate the community and the youth in sustainable self-sufficient life practices.  I want to extend our teaching beyond our family and share it with the community, driving home the importance of caring for the land and its inhabitants. Lastly, we want to help feed and build a stronger community. We want to partner with our peers and help families and local operations thrive for a healthier, brighter, greener future.

Thank you again to all of my subscribers… if not for you, so much of this wouldn’t be possible…

Please stop by The Sustainable Sweet & Savory Gourmet’s new home, pull up a chair, and stay awhile… it’s going to be an interesting party for sure!

Back to Basics Sustainable Living

Local ~ Organic ~ Seasonal ~ Sustainable

Leave a Reply

