Gallery

Revised – Country White Bread, Tested & Confirmed!

Each day my household is trying new things to be more self-sufficient.  One of those self sufficiencies is making our own breads; to avoid having to purchase it from the store and to know exactly what is going into the making of the bread.

I found the original recipe on a great bread site Cooking Bread.  I originally made a couple of minor modifications to the recipe:

– Using Bob’s Red Mill Organic All Purpose Flour because I don’t have access to organic bread flour
– Olive oil because the original recipe did not indicate what type of oil
– And a mix of organic sour cream & organic milk because I don’t have access to organic buttermilk

Then I started doing research on cooking with oils vs. cooking with animal fats, more specifically pasture raised grass-fed animal fats.  What I’ve found is most oil’s “fat bond” make up is delicate, any increase in temperature, especially high temperatures can cause damage to the oils. The damage increases bad chemical exposure to those ingesting it.  So… what if I replace the olive oil with tallow?  Will it impact the texture or the taste of the bread?

When going to test the tallow in the recipe I realized I was out of sour cream but I had organic plain whole yogurt.  Ok – so I’ve got high omegas from the tallow and if I use yogurt in replace of sour cream I’ve got some awesome live active cultures creating lots of GOOD bacteria!

The new modifications to the recipe include:

– Using Bob’s Red Mill Organic All Purpose Flour because I don’t have access to organic bread flour
– Melted tallow
– A mix of organic plain yogurt & organic milk because I don’t have access to organic buttermilk
– And a small amount of butter vs. oil to coat the bowl in the 1st rising.

To ensure I properly incorporate the tallow, I brought my egg mixture to room temperature.  I melted the tallow to a liquid form.  I then slowly drizzled the tallow into the egg mixture whisking briskly to avoid cooking the egg mixture or allowing the tallow to solidify.  Once the egg/tallow ingredients are combined I can proceed with the rest of the mixing.  After I completed the first kneading process, instead of coating my bowl with olive oil, I used a bit of organic butter and rubbed it into the bowl.  I then proceeded with the remaining steps.

The bread turned out fantastic – the rising and baking process was not affected at all by the use of tallow, yogurt, or butter.  The bread was light, fluffy, and delicious.  I could use either option but here are both for your reference with links back to the original post for mixing and baking instructions.

* = organic
*^ = organic/local

Country White Bread (Olive Oil & Sour Cream)
2 -5×9 loaf pans, 375 degrees for 30-35 minutes

5 – 6 cups bread flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Organic Flour* – note, you will not use all the flour)
1 cup lukewarm water
1 cup buttermilk (I used 1/4 cup sour cream mixed into enough milk to make 1 cup*^)
1/4 cup olive oil* (+ enough to coat the bowl for the 1st rising)
2 eggs*^
1/2 cup sugar*
1 teaspoon kosher salt
4 teaspoons instant yeast
Egg Wash
1 egg white*^
3 tablespoons cream*^

Country White Bread (Tallow & Yogurt)
2 -5×9 loaf pans, 375 degrees for 30-35 minutes

5 – 6 cups bread flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Organic Flour * – and note, you will not use all the flour)
1 cup lukewarm water
1 cup buttermilk (I used 1/4 cup plain yogurt mixed into enough milk to make 1 cup *^)
1/4 cup tallow, melted*
2 eggs *^
1/2 cup sugar *
1 teaspoon kosher salt
4 teaspoons instant yeast
Egg Wash
1 egg white*^
3 tablespoons cream *^
1 tsp butter* (to coat the bowl for the 1st rising)

2 responses to “Revised – Country White Bread, Tested & Confirmed!

  1. Thanks for the recipes. I’ve just started experimenting with bread-making. The husband’s on a very restricted salt diet and sometimes the store has run out of the no-salt bread that we buy…I’m intrigued with your use of tallow. I’ve put it on my list to try.

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying the recipes! Thanks for stopping by. When I was pregnant my doctor wanted to restrict my salt intake but what we’ve learned is that by making much of our food ourselves, we’re eliminating the “processed” salt which is bad…and adding in good salt (i.e. kosher) which can be benefical. I hope you guys are able to find fun tasty alternatives!

Leave a Reply

