Gallery

Testing – Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Who doesn’t like a good chocolate chip cookie?  Crisp or chewy, filled with gooey chocolate chips; I think the chocolate chip cookie is my favorite cookie of all time.  I remember it most out of any cookie I made with my grandmother as a child.  There didn’t have to be a special occasion to make chocolate chip cookies.  I know its been said to NOT eat the batter because of the raw eggs…that never stopped me and still hasn’t to this day…I LOVE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES!

The other day I read a post from a fellow foodie, homesteading, blogging friend and they had just made Pumpkin Chocolate Chip cookies.  OH MY… I am a big fan of the sugar pumpkins…pumpkin pie anyone?!?!  So now you’ve combined the moist sweet goodness of fresh pumpkin to the chocolately goodness of a chocolate chip cookie…I say…WINNER!  My husband was a skeptic…4 cookies later with a big glass of milk and he was a believer.

Typical me…I decided to change the recipe…just a bit.  So below is my version of the following Pumpkin Chocolate Chip cookies.  This is only a test because I’m trying out how a combination of butter & tallow work vs. just butter or just tallow.  I’ve got a couple more sugar pumpkins left from the season…so what better to test them on than the Pumpkin Chocolate Chip.  Once I find a winner (with the fat combinations) I will update the post to say CONFIRMED and what I did to test the variances.

Here is a link to the original recipe and below is the recipe version I am testing.  Thanks to Unpaved Roads for brining this to my attention…I’ve got a new cookie to add to my arsenal!

* = organic
*^ = organic / local

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies
375 Degrees, 10-12 minutes, yield 2-3 dozen depending on scoop size…

2 1/2 cups flour *
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1 egg *^
1 cup fresh pumpkin (pulp or puree, depending on how you like your cookie texture) *^  {tip} make sure you drain the pumpkin as much as possible to avoid a runny batter…
1/2 cup butter *
1/2 cup tallow *^
3/4 cup granulated white sugar *
3/4 cup brown sugar *
1 teaspoon vanilla *
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

In a separate bowl, combine all dry ingredients (i.e. flour, baking powder/soda, salt, and spices) and set aside.  In a mixer cream together butter and tallow.  Next cream in sugars, vanilla, pumpkin, and egg.  Once ingredients are incorporated – not over mixed, slowly add in the flower on your mixer’s slowest setting till all flour is incorporated.  Lastly stir in the chocolate chips and you are ready to bake.

Prepare a cookie tray with a sheet of parchment paper.  The size of the cookie is up to you, but keep in mind the larger the scoop…the longer the cooking time otherwise the cookie will remain uncooked in the center.  Place a heaping spoonfull onto the tray – keeping space between each cookie.  I fit 9 scoops to a tray.  Place the cookie tray in a pre-heated 375 degree oven for 10 to 12 minutes depending on cookie size, elevation, and how your oven works.

Immediately remove from cookie tray and place on a cooling rack.  Store in an airtight container in a cool dry location.  In our house, these cookies lasted three days so storage was not an issue…but I wouldn’t keep them longer than a week given fresh eggs, butter, and pumpkin were used.

This cookie seemed to have a ‘cake-like’ consistency.  I’m not sure if that is because I used a mix of tallow and butter or possibly it was because the pumpkin provided extra moisture to the mix.  I’ve had suggestions of adding oatmeal to give it a different texture.  I’ll be testing a recipe with butter only and tallow only and see which one bakes and tastes better; and I’ll update this post according to the WINNER!

Happy baking and more importanly happy eating!

4 responses to “Testing – Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: 365 Project for 2012 – Day 28 | The Sustainable Sweet & Savory Gourmet

  3. Pingback: 365 Project for 2012 – Day 34 | The Sustainable Sweet & Savory Gourmet

  4. Pingback: Tested & Confirmed – Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies (Tallow & Butter Comparison) | The Sustainable Sweet & Savory Gourmet

Leave a Reply

