Gallery

It Starts With an Idea…

“Don’t wait. The time will never be just right.”
Napoleon Hill

For the past few years I’ve been talking about a handful of ideas…over and over…and over.  I have grand notions and talk a big game.  The challenge is that I’ve been reluctant to take serious action and then let the ups and downs of the day-to-day get in the way.  I’ve made minor strides towards the ideas I speak of, but nothing that I would label a 100% success.  My reluctance comes from worry if it’s the right time to make a move.  I also haven’t been as vocal as I should about my thoughts, for fear of rejection.

I’ve met a handful of enthusiastic people over the past year who share a similar passion for the ideas I’ve been talking about for so long.  With interests in-common, I felt compelled to express my thoughts.  Wouldn’t you know it but apparently I’m on to something because there are others who are interested in hearing more.

I am realizing that it is better to try and fail than to never try at all.  The experience in itself is the greatest tool I could ever gain.  Failing will hurt but at least I made the effort.  Succeeding will feel great and for that, I must try.  The ideas are flowing and I am taking small steps toward each one.

So, what have I been talking about for so long…?

Since my son was born, I’ve done a great deal of evaluating life.  I’m paying closer attention to how our environment impacts our general well-being… and in the grand scheme of things… how much does “this” or “that” matter.  I believe that we’ve lost touch with what’s really important – we’ve lost touch with the basics.  Old ways of thinking that were really not old at all; they are smart, realistic, and sustainable.

My passion for food and need for a better lifestyle have made an obvious connection.

In the coming weeks and months, The Sustainable Sweet & Savory Gourmet, is going to be testing out a few ideas among my family, friends, and community.  The focus of these ideas will be around local, organic, seasonal, sustainable food.

I want to share with family, friends, and my community what we’re learning about sustainability; the benefits of eating local, organic, seasonal foods; and how to eat seasonally even when it’s not in season.

I’ll be writing about the ideas and experiences as they happen and as always, I will welcome the feedback…!

“Every good movement passes through five stages, indifference, ridicule, abuse, repression, and respect.”  Mahatma Gandhi

2 responses to “It Starts With an Idea…

  1. Love Napoleon Hill.

  2. I love the concept and the effort on your part to make a difference. You will make a difference, if in no one else’s life but your own and your family, that is what is most important. Your Passion comes through loud and clear in your writing and is, I’m sure, much appreciated by many. You are a Woman, a Mother , a Wife and an Educator with much love and compassion which will take you far in your endeavor to succeed with your passion. Believe in yourself and your abilities and it will happen. With much respect and love………. Me

Leave a Reply

